banjolele

pretty things and random musings

Six Things About Me February 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Alison @ 3:24 pm
Tags:

I’ve been tagged by the lovely Elizabeth to write six things about me and have put it off for two days as I couldn’t think of what to write. But I can’t procrastinate forever so here goes!

 

1. I have a strange fascination with serial killers, especially Jack the Ripper. It’s been going on since I was 12 as I remember the police releasing the crime notes and grisly photos of the Ripper case 100 years after the murders (1988) and them being in the newspaper. I even did a speech about Jack in school soon afterwards and Nick Page asked to leave the room as he felt ill. I don’t know whether it was my description of the mutilations that did it but I like to think so!

 

brownies

2. I love to bake and chocolate brownies are one of my favorite recipes both because they taste good and because they’re so quick and easy. I tend to make them without nuts but I might make some walnut-studded ones next time or some with fresh raspberries dropped in – nom nom!

 

frank-with-paws-in-air

3. I have a beautiful white cat called Frank (although he is often called Franklin D Grumpyvelt as he is a moody little sausage!) We got him from Gateshead Cats Protection almost five years ago when we lived in the North East and we don’t know how old he is as he was a stray. He is a grumpy but very affectionate big beast of a boy who likes cuddles, chicken and lying on the hot water pipes. I love him very much.

 

4. No, I’m not Jeremy Paxman is disguise! But I was a contestant on University Challenge when I was a student and won the series trophy in 1997 with Magdalen College, Oxford. See, you didn’t have me pegged as a clever clogs, did you? Not that I answered many questions but it gave me the contacts who enabled me to start my career in TV as a researcher on the show four years later. I’ve also made a documentary about it so I’m one of the foremost living experts on UC. The theme tune still gives me the shivers though as it was played in studio before each match began. 

 

5. I have a stationery fetish. The tandem above is a detail from some personalised notecards I bought from the lovely Sarah Parrott. I have three A4 keepsake boxes filled with greeting cards, notecards, writing paper, gift tags, gift wrap, labels and other ephemera and a drawer and a bookshelf filled with notebooks and journals. I simply can’t get enough paper!

 

wedding-photo-car

6. I’ve been married for six and a half years to the delightful Dr DAJ MacPherson aka Jim. He’s a history lecturer and the kindest, sweetest man who ever lived. We met on the second day of university almost 15 years ago, got together (after consuming two bottles of port!) a week later and have been together ever since. He is truly the best thing that ever happened to me and puts up with an awful lot, including my ongoing battle with depression. Without him, I would have been lost a long time ago. So let’s hear it for Jim – hip hip hooray!!

 

One Response to “Six Things About Me”

  1. theboakster Says:

    Hooray for Jim!!! and hooray for you too sweet pea! xxxxxxxx


Leave a Reply

